Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

CCC Concerned About ANLCA Election N5m Funding Shortfall

…Recommends 93 Delegates, Shifts Exercise By 2 Weeks


There are indications that fresh agreements and guidelines have been produced for the conduct of the forthcoming elections into the National Executive Committee (NECOM) of the Association of Nigeria Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), effective immediately; with a compressed 93 voters only.

Cross section of participants at the meeting

Settle Systems Advert

While only 93 delegates have been approved to vote, effectively curtailing further disagreements between the factions on who has the right to vote, the elections has been shifted by two weeks to allow the Association Electoral Committee (ASECO) sufficient time to conclude its assignments; display the register of voters for screening and observation by both contesting camps, before the publication of the final list.

According to the Customs Consultative Council (CCC) which has been mediating in the crisis, the latest adjustments are intended to sooth all frayed nerves and to give the exercise the benefit of transparency.

In the time being, the Board of Trustees (BoT) was mandated to source for the balance of N5million required to deliver on the election processes.

A statement by the CCC signed by the Secretary, Dr. Eugene Nweke, and made available to Pinnacle Time stated that above decisions were taken at a compressed meeting of all concerned yesterday, Wednesday 23, August 2023 at the Rockview Hotels Apapa Lagos.

The statement reads, “After the Peace Accord Resolutions Implementation process as agreed on the 19th July, 2023, less than 8 days to the end of 31st August, 2023, the CCC deemed it necessary to convene yet another compressed stakeholders meeting comprising of key ANLCA leaders involved in the peace accord resolutions implementation process to address fallouts from the implementation process which bothered mostly on election concerns.

“Hence the need for this meeting aimed to critically reevaluate the peace accord implementation process and the harmonization of the election methodology, for the overall attainments of a common and general election approach.”

The statement averred that a total of 12 resolutions were made and mutually endorsed by everyone concerned, following CCC further intervention.

“The CCC dispassionately looked at the goals before it and requested leaders to embrace same. Afterwards, it carefully and exhaustively looked at the submissions and issues raised by all the concerned parties in attendance and resolve as thus:

  1. The corporate image, members (practitioners) of ANLCA and the Professionals should be the core interest of every leader in attendance.
  2. In the light of this, it was then mutually agreed that, on this negotiation table for the election harmonization process, everyone is urged to make sacrifices and be committed to protecting the corporate image of the ANLCA and preserve the professional interest.
  3. That, while considering any workable options towards arriving at a generally acceptable election modality, that the adopted ANLCA Supreme Constitution, must not lose its essence, wherefore any election options or modalities, must be in compliance with the stipulations of the Constitution 2013. Wherefore, for emphasis sake, all flexible considerations must not mean a deliberate intent to undermine the Constitution but rather a path to finding peace for a common good.
  4. That, the total considerate and acceptable electorates to be enlisted to make the voters lists is 93 members, which includes: the Chapter Executives = 61; BOT members = 8 and Aspirants = 24. This list is subject to ratification following the constitutional enabled process as shall be published by ASECO.
  5. Specifically, it agreed that, ASECO shall first publish a provisional voters list and give grace for re-verifications and reactions by the concerned party, and thereafter, it can go ahead to publish the final voters list.
  6. All eligible voters must be subjected to screening by ASECO. In the same manner, the Aspirants across camps are at liberty to rescreen the published voters list with consideration to eligibility of such enlisted licenses.
  7. That, at the end of this process, the BOT, ADMIN and ASECO should write their reports, just as the CCC shall also write its own reports of the meeting outcome.
  8. That, in order to ensure that, an ample time is given for ASECO not to undertake a hurried election or make hasty mistakes, an extension of time beyond the 31st August, was considered. Considerably, two (2) weeks additional days was approved for ASECO to tidy up with the election.
  9. That the date finally agreed for ASECO to conduct the election commencing, two (2) weeks from today and that is 6th and 7th of September, 2023.
  10. That, the election should be held in Lagos for ease of logistics.
  11. That, the BOT should use its position to raise and fund the financial shortfall of #5million required by the ASECO to execute the election.
  12. That, the Admin should assist the ASECO with necessary information needed for positive outcome.”

While the statement said DCG Austen Warikoru presided at the meeting, attendance was 19. “The meeting was attended by the following CCC representative and the ANLCA Leaders:

  1. Aare Hakeem Olarenwaju Rff – CCC Chairman.
  2. DCG Austen Warikoru – CCC Nominated Presiding Officer.
  3. Dr. Eugene Nweke – CCC Secretary.
  4. HRH Eze Amb. Damian Obianigwe – Special Invited Guest.
  5. Alhaji Taiwo Mustapha – BOT Chairman.
  6. Chief Sir Ernest Elochukwu – BOT Member
  7. Prince Ozo Chukwura – BOT V/Chairman.
  8. Mr Eniola Igbariola – BOT Member.
  9. Chief Emenike Nwokeoji – Presidential Aspirant.
  10. Prince Segun Oduntan – Vice Presidential Aspirant.
  11. Mr Farinto Kayode – Presidential Aspirant.
  12. Chief Dennis Okwu – Vice Presidential Aspirant.
  13. Alhaji Mukiala Abdulazeez – Sole Administrator.
  14. Nze Aloy Igwe – ASECO Chairman.
  15. Mr Obe Samuel Oluwole – ASECO Member.
  16. Mr Lekan Babalola – ASECO Member.
  17. Mr Elochukwu Obiora Emmanuel – ASECO Member.
  18. Mr Fatimehin Tope – ASECO Member.
  19. Mr Mustapha Yakubu – ASECO Member.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »