Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

League’s Silver Jubilee: Oyetola, Dangote, Others Confirm Attendance


The League of Maritime Editors (LOME) has received confirmation that the Honourable Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, His Excellency Adegboyega Oyetola will grace its 25th anniversary celebration holding   in Lagos, Thursday, 7, December 2023.

Officials of the Ministry said the Minister who is the Chief Host and the Permanent Secretary, Dr. Mrs Magdalene Ajani, will be on ground.  Similarly, the League has also received assurance that the   Chairman of Dangote Group, Alhaji Aliko Dangote,  who is has been slated to  chair the event will also be available.

Settle Systems Advert

A statement by Francis Ugwoke,  the League Public Relations Officer stated that assurances have also been gotten that heads of government parastatals will be in attendance.

The statement reads: “Chief Executives of agencies under the Ministry who are all billed to present papers on different topics in line with their statutory obligations have equally sent words that they will be available for the programme.

‘Part of  the programme lined up for the 25th anniversary includes presentation of papers by distinguished industry Chief Executive Officers/chieftains and award to deserving corporate organisations and individuals.”

The dual themes of the anniversary  “Harnessing Nigeria’s Potential in Marine and Blue Economy” and “The New Customs Act 2023and Its Implication on Trade” has been chosen to provide opportunity for a diligent overview and appraisal of the marine and customs port; taking into consideration, recent  government  moves to rejig the overall industry benefits.

“The NCS and other agencies under the Marine and Blue Ministry  shall be presenting papers in respect of  their contributions to the success of the blue economy under the new administration of President Ahmed Bola Tinubu.

“No fewer than 16 corporate organisations and individuals drawn from the maritime sector, among them, the Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA), Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) and Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC) have been slated for the conferment of awards based on their remarkable performance in their statutory obligations in the sector.”

President of the League, High Chief Timothy Okorocha  said the Comptroller General of Customs, Bashir Adewale Adeniyi and  Assistant Comptroller General of Customs (ACG Headquarters), Alhaji A.O Olajogun , among other dignitaries will be conferred with awards.

“The League identified two prominent women in the industry   to be honoured during the event. They are the   Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Marine and Blue Economy, Dr. Mrs Magdalene Ajani   and the recently retired General Manager, Corporate & Strategic Communications, NPA, Mrs Josephine Moltok.

“The League, according to the statement, has followed their track records since they joined the industry, which is the reason for the honour being extended to them.”

The event which is billed to hold at the Lagos Travel Inn, 39/41 Toyin Street, Ikeja, Lagos  by 10am, is part of the contributions of League to the success of the blue economy agenda of the federal government.

The respected and agenda setting  league of maritime editors  remains the maritime industry watchdog and a dependable partner in critical assessment and developmental journalism.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »